Has Rush Limbaugh Jumped the Shark?

Rush Limbaugh is easily one of the founding fathers of conservative talk radio. He is also a brilliant self-promoter and builder of his own nationally syndicated radio talk show. He is arguably the most quoted and most influential commentator among the conservative masses. That said, has he jumped the shark? Has he started the Obama attack too soon? Has he shown that there is no aisle crossing to be done if he were a politician?

You be the judge. Listen to his recent radio commentary from January 16, 2009 (four days before the Inauguration). and review the transcript below from his website:

I got a request here from a major American print publication.  “Dear Rush:  For the Obama [Immaculate] Inauguration we are asking a handful of very prominent politicians, statesmen, scholars, businessmen, commentators, and economists to write 400 words on their hope for the Obama presidency.  We would love to include you.  If you could send us 400 words on your hope for the Obama presidency, we need it by Monday night, that would be ideal.”  Now, we’re caught in this trap again.  The premise is, what is your “hope.”  My hope, and please understand me when I say this.  I disagree fervently with the people on our side of the aisle who have caved and who say, “Well, I hope he succeeds.  We’ve got to give him a chance.”  Why?  They didn’t give Bush a chance in 2000.  Before he was inaugurated the search-and-destroy mission had begun.  I’m not talking about search-and-destroy, but I’ve been listening to Barack Obama for a year-and-a-half.  I know what his politics are.  I know what his plans are, as he has stated them.  I don’t want them to succeed.

If I wanted Obama to succeed, I’d be happy the Republicans have laid down.  And I would be encouraging Republicans to lay down and support him.  Look, what he’s talking about is the absorption of as much of the private sector by the US government as possible, from the banking business, to the mortgage industry, the automobile business, to health care.  I do not want the government in charge of all of these things. I don’t want this to work.  So I’m thinking of replying to the guy, “Okay, I’ll send you a response, but I don’t need 400 words, I need four: I hope he fails.” (interruption) What are you laughing at?  See, here’s the point.  Everybody thinks it’s outrageous to say.  Look, even my staff, “Oh, you can’t do that.”  Why not?  Why is it any different, what’s new, what is unfair about my saying I hope liberalism fails?  Liberalism is our problem.  Liberalism is what’s gotten us dangerously close to the precipice here.  Why do I want more of it?  I don’t care what the Drive-By story is.  I would be honored if the Drive-By Media headlined me all day long: “Limbaugh: I Hope Obama Fails.”  Somebody’s gotta say it.

What do you think? Has he jumped the shark or is he brilliant at staying relevant and being part of the national dialogue?

3 responses to “Has Rush Limbaugh Jumped the Shark?

  1. Hell no, Rush has not jumped the shark. 🙂

    I don’t listen to him since I work during the day, but he is 100% right on this. I blogged about it last week. As a Conservative you should hope that liberal policies fail. As a Liberal you should hope Conservative policies fail. If you fall in the middle of the spectrum you probably need to do more research to find out about the issues. 🙂

  2. With the mounting job casualties, here’s hoping SCOTUS either finds someone, somewhere, has standing to require BHO’s birth certificate or fixes attention on a criminal indictment before he wins his War on Prosperity.

  3. I hope Rush Limbaugh fails – fails at his fear mongering, fails at his hyper partisan attacks, fails at his right wing recruitment, and fails in his attempts to divide the nation.

    He should ashamed of himself and any Republican who stands beside him or defends his words and thoughts will do so at their own risk. The country is in crisis and the time for partisanship and division is over. As a democrat, I hope Rush continues his hate-speak on behalf of the Republican Party – we could use a larger majority in the Congress.

Leave a Reply

