Recovery.gov – A Sham or a New View Into Govenment

Recovery.gov

Today, I reviewed the new government website “Recovery.gov“. The rhetoric in it is encoraging. It promises to provide visability as to how, when and where the the $700+ billion stimulus package will be spent. I am cautiously optimistic. The proof will be in the pudding, or in this case, the details. If I can see if my home town has received block grants for more police and then I don’t see more police in my town, I can play watchdog and whistleblower. If I can see that $300 million has been allocated to upgrade the transit system where I live, I can play watchdog and whistleblower. Could this be part a new tool in fighting corruption and crowniism? I hope so. However, if this just shows how much money went to a state and it ends there, this will be a sham. Again, I am cautiously optimistic. I give kudos to the idea and the implementation so far. Hopefully this will be a watershed event that dramatically changes how government spends our tax dollars.

Leave a Reply

