Obama Gets Nobel Peace Prize, Glenn Gets the Evil Eye

President Barack Obama

President Barack Obama

At 6:15am this morning, I walked into my exercise class and three women were talking. One said,

Did you hear Obama won the Nobel Peace Prize?

I said,

Well that’s impressive… what did he win it for?

The look on their faces was like I had just hit a puppy with a bat. Is it just me or isn’t there usually an accomplishment associated with the Nobel Prize? So, I did some research.

The Norwegian Nobel Committee said,

Obama has as President created a new climate in international politics. Multilateral diplomacy has regained a central position, with emphasis on the role that the United Nations and other international institutions can play. Dialogue and negotiations are preferred as instruments for resolving even the most difficult international conflicts. The vision of a world free from nuclear arms has powerfully stimulated disarmament and arms control negotiations. Thanks to Obama’s initiative, the USA is now playing a more constructive role in meeting the great climatic challenges the world is confronting. Democracy and human rights are to be strengthened.

Only very rarely has a person to the same extent as Obama captured the world’s attention and given its people hope for a better future. His diplomacy is founded in the concept that those who are to lead the world must do so on the basis of values and attitudes that are shared by the majority of the world’s population.

Okay, I get it, the committee is in love with the idea of Obama versus and tangable accomplishments. Setting a tone is great and necessary, but its strikes me that the end goal of peace should be the bar. Then again, I am not on the selection committee. As for me, I am happy for President Obama. He is certainly gaining worldwide recognition and it can’t hurt us on the international front for having a sitting president having this credential early on in his term. So to President Obama, I say Bravo. Oh, and can we get some resolution to the healthcare problem? Thanks.

To the Norwegian Nobel Committee, I say… what are you thinking? I get that peace is not medicine or physics where you can point to a tangible discovery or breakthrough. However, your award now seems to be more of a political statement rather than one that is predicated on accomplishment.

Past Nobel Prize Winners:

Share

2 responses to “Obama Gets Nobel Peace Prize, Glenn Gets the Evil Eye

  1. I’ll defend the president and explain what he did since no one else is bothering (including the president).

    Yes, I know he was nominated long ago before he technically did anything. But that is not how the prize works, there are many examples of the prizes going out prior to actual accomplishments. Not an important fact, but you brought it up.

    Also, I am not going to defend the timing or possible motivations of the prize because it doesn’t matter. I will simply state that he deserves the award and has earned it.

    So what has Obama done? Well for one he was instrumental in getting Russia involved with the Megaton To Megawatt program.

    I’m not going to get into the problem of nuclear proliferation that occurred immediately after the fall of USSR and all the missing material that is still unaccounted for… but I will mention it 😉

    So it could easily be argued that Obama is politically responsible for the disarmament of 15,000 potential warheads.

    In my opinion if you could convince any nation to disarm even 1 warhead you deserve a Nobel Peace Price. So in my mind he earned every penny of that prize 15,000 times over (and counting).

    Thanks

  2. Sorry, I misquoted the numbers and provided the total from the Mt-Mw program to date rather than the specific contributions from Obama.

    This contract actually started under Clinton and has been carried out since. Obama was able to negotiate an amendment to the program and hopefully it can continue past the 2013 contract date.

    So Obama’s efforts are leading to even more nuclear material being used safely. So I will say Obama still meets my criteria, however I have to ask. Where is Bill Clinton’s award?

Leave a Reply

