A Politician with Guts

I honor the wisdom and sheer guts of NY Mayor Michael Bloomberg, who offered a stirring and emotional case

NYC Mayor Michael Bloomberg

for why his administration supports the construction of a mosque near Ground Zero. On a day when I posted about the hypocrites and lowlifes who play the part of the political elite, Bloomberg offers us an example of what real leadership is about, and he offers a case for religious freedom that reminds us of the values on which this country was established. – Jeff Kimball

Share

5 responses to “A Politician with Guts

  1. I’ve said it before – Bloomberg 2012

  2. I don’t always agree with him but I have to admire him. He sticks to his principles, polls and rhetoric be damned.

  3. MOSQUE Should NOT Be Built in Sheepshead Bay, Because Everyone Knows Sheepshead Bay Is Sacred Ground
    http://www.tonygatto.com

  4. Tony – I’m confused – are we talking Ground Zero Mosque or Brooklyn Mosque? Is the problem with Mosque’s or locations of Mosque’s.

  5. Maureen Williams

    I had an entirely different comment written – then I listened to the speech, erased, and here’s round 2. I’m not ready to vote for him yet, but in this case Mayor Bloomberg indeed makes an eloquent argument. I was of two minds about this; the first, Mayor Bloomberg articulates better than I ever could:

    “Whatever you may think of the proposed mosque and community center, lost in the heat of the debate has been a basic question: Should government attempt to deny private citizens the right to build a house of worship on private property based on their particular religion? That may happen in other countries, but we should never allow it to happen here.”

    On that point I fully agree with him.

    The second is, perhaps, just the conspiracy theorist in me. I just wish there was some way to ensure that this thing isn’t being funded by extremists (and later marketed) as a symbol of victory over the Great Satan in the Muslim world. Too much talk radio, I guess… you guys need to ‘cast more, so I don’t get caught up in the dark side!! (I expel you, Michael Graham!!!!)

    I’m going to go with my better angels, at least two of whom are named Jeff, apparently, and my faith in the values established by the Constitution. I like the idea that it makes the extremists a little bit crazy that in the US you can have a mosque, a church, and a synagogue side by each and we’re free to attend whichever one we want – or none at all – as we wish without fear of government reprisal.

    And that’s just one of the things I love about America.

    Cheers !! MAW

Leave a Reply

